Unit 33: Lens-Based Image Making

Our first full lesson saw the class being introduced to the course requirements. Split into three units, there will be one each term.

The first of these is Unit 33: Lens-Based Image Making. This unit will introduce me to skills in and knowledge of a variety of lens-based technologies and processes for image making. During this term I will be exploring the potential of this area in response to given themes or briefs.

The following is an outline of the requirements and a statement of intention. Also, when there are times of doubt or confusion, I can use this as a reference to keep me focused! I’ve found during my Level 1 and Level 2 studies, it’s quite easy to lose the plot. This outline will get me back on track if I waver off course.

In order to pass this unit I will need to understand how to analyse a given theme or brief to plan and produce the most effective outcomes. This will involve using visual sources to develop creative ideas. I will also need to take into account appropriate and available technologies and equipment to build on technical skills.

I will also be made aware of the health and safety issues that apply to this area of study and explore them in sufficient detail to limit risk.

On completion of this unit I will:

  1. Know about lens-based image making
  2. Be able to develop ideas using lens-based technologies
  3. Be able to produce final outcomes for a set brief
  4. Be able to review own lens-based outcomes

The first aspect will provide knowlege on all aspects of lens-based image making. This includes

  • Still photography
  • 35mm camera
  • Large format
  • Point-and-shoot lenses
  • Digital (DSLR, compact and  mobile phone cameras)
  • Lenses (telephoto, wide angle, zoom, enlarger
  • Characteristics (speed, depth of field, resolving power, bokeh

Additionally, I will also be looking at the work of others from both primary and secondary sources.

Primary sources include:

  • Galleries
  • Exhibitions
  • Guest speakers

Secondary sources include:

  • Internet
  • Books
  • Magazines
  • Design examples

I will also be looking at the applications of photography such as:

  • Web
  • Animations
  • Magazines
  • Illustrations
  • TV
  • Advertising
  • Packaging
  • Scientific

The second aspect of the course will enable me to develop ideas using lens-based technologies. This element will involve me examining traditional technologies:

  • Camera control and operation
  • Portraits
  • Landscapes
  • Still life
  • Studio work
  • Film speeds
  • Exposure
  • Depth of field
  • Shutter speed
  • Darkroom techniques
  • Film processing
  • Printing

Within this element, I will also be examining digital technologies:

  • Camera controls and operations
  • Portraits
  • Landscapes
  • Still life
  • Studio work
  • Exposure
  • Depth of field
  • Shutter speed
  • Editing and manipulation
  • Use of relevant software and hardware

Finally, I will be examining lens-based aspects:

  • Lens selection
  • Focal length
  • Aperture
  • Depth of field
  • Lens speed
  • Focal plan shutter
  • Apo-chromatic
  • Camera format

The third aspect of this unit will enable me produce final outcomes for a set brief.

In order to fulfill this aspect of the unit, I will have to:

  • Consider visual language and formal elements:
    • Composition
    • Line
    • Shape
    • Contrast
    • Colour
    • Perspective
  • Use lens-based technologies:
    • Cameras
    • Accessories
    • Equipment
    • Lenses
    • Tripod
  • Follow a set brief, taking into consideration:
    • Specific messages
    • Clarity of message
    • Functional
    • Figurative
    • Illustrations
    • Charts
    • Diagrams
    • Non-specific messages
    • Underlying meaning
    • Double meanings
    • Intention
    • Idea
    • Target group
    • Audience

Fourthly, and finally, I will be able to review my own lens-based outcomes. This includes:

  • Outcomes against brief e.g.:
    • Analysis work
    • Technical language
    • Techniques
    • Aesthetic qualities
    • Fitness for purpose
    • Constraints
    • Opportunities
    • Record (e.g. annotation, presentation)

In order to pass this unit I have to present evidence for assessment that will demonstrate my meeting of all the learning outcomes of the unit.

This evidence has to meet a set assessment and grading criteria, which consist of a pass grade, a merit grade or distinction grade.

In order to achieve a pass grade I must show that I’m able to:

  • P1: identify lens-based image making
  • P2: develop ideas using lens-based technologies
  • P3: produce and present final outcomes for a set brief
  • P4: use lens-based technologies and techniques within own work
  • P5: review own lens-based outcomes

To achieve a merit grade I have to show in addition to the pass criteria:

  • M1: describe lens-based image making
  • M2: purposefully produce individual ideas against a given theme or brief
  • M3: produce and present considered final outcomes for a set brief, with coherent use of lens-based technologies and techniques
  • M4: justify my own lens-based outcomes

Finally, in order to achieve a distinction grade, I have to:

  • D1: use examples of lens-based image making to inform ideas
  • D2: produce original ideas and effective outcomes against a brief, with innovative use of lens-based technologies and techniques
  • D3: evaluate own lens-based outcomes

In order to show that I have understood and achieved the required criteria, each blog will feature the criteria reference when applicable.

Ok, that’s the course requirements out there for me to focus on. Next, the project itself…

Criteria Ref: P1

Leave a Reply

