Vineyard Passage 3rd November 2016

After today’s lesson, I visited Vineyard Passage again. This time the camera was set to AF-S (single focus point) instead of my usual AF-A (when the camera makes the decision as to what focusing aspect to use). I have to admit that I returned to aperture priority. Yes, I do need further practice using fully manual, but it just works for me and my particular style.

When I first arrived, I focused on the actual environment. What I did notice this time was further architectural details, including these sepulchres. I also liked the way the autumn sunlight made some interesting shadows and contrasts.

There was also a group of volunteers who were tidying up the overgrown foliage and fallen leaves. Before I started taking photos, I did check with them that it was ok to take photos. It also helped that I mentioned I’ve already taken shots on behalf of the Environment Trust who looks after this quiet corner of Richmond. This was certainly putting me out of my comfort zone with regards to taking pictures, but I don’t have issues with talking to complete strangers and making them feel at ease. My many years working in public relations, customer services and retail certainly haven’t gone to waste!

Interestingly, one of the volunteers is studying ceramics at RACC and lives near to Richmond Park so we had a nice chat about trees and the Isabella Plantation.

I have to admit that I do really like people watching, so it was also quite fascinating observing those using this thoroughfare. One lady did catch my eye. I didn’t get a close up, but she had immaculate make up and was dressed impeccably. I did wonder if she was a famous actress who is now in her dotage.

vineyard_psg_161103_24_1500

Out of all of the photos this one has to be my favourite. I really like the way the camera has captured the movement of the branch.

vineyard_psg_161103_29_1500

Criteria Ref: P1, P2, P4, P5

Leave a Reply

