People & the Environment Selection Pt 1

Over the past few weeks I’ve taken many photos with a certain idea of what I would like to achieve for this project. Even though at the start of this process I was focusing on how people are remembered, the actual path has taken me through various concepts. Initially starting with specific memorials, I found that the story of the mausoleums was more interesting than the images. I also found myself enjoying & appreciating well-known areas in a different way, especially the benches & those along the River Thames.

My task now is to go through these images & decide which ones would be suitable for the final selection & what the theme should be.

These are the following images I’ve selected for print so far. I’ll be going for 12″ x 8″ which is a nice size to be able to see the details of the images. All were processed for sizing via Camera Raw (saved as JPGs at 12, which is the highest quality) either directly from the RAW file or an edited a file. The ones below have been saved at 1500px on the longest side at 300dpi to keep the file sizes small & harder to copy.

The above selection was made based on feedback from my tutor & classmates, plus reactions to images on social media. The exercise also made me a bit more ruthless in my choices. As there’s a total of 43, I’m sure there’s going to be a bit more bloodshed involved!

However, until I have these photos physically in front of me, it’s only until then I can make my final decisions.

Criteria Ref: P2, P3, P4, P5.

Leave a Reply

