Cruel & Tender: Pt 5

Class feedback time with some interesting responses. As per usual with the class & Zig, the comments I received helped immensely.

The images which received the most encouraging comments were those that showed the Isle of Dogs in contrast with the North Greenwich riverside.

Also, Zig quite liked the shots which showed the rubbish, contrasting the pristine look of the cityscape in the other images.

Additional to this, I carried out some social media research. I’m a member of a Facebook group called ‘I’m From SE London’, whose members share images & memories from that part of the city. I posted the following photo with the caption ‘View of the Isle of Dogs from North Greenwich last week.’ Think it caused a bit of a stir!

greenwich_170224_011_1500

The comments I received were exceedingly interested & revealing, kicking up a whole lot of emotions, memories & thoughts from members of the group. Some were totally dismayed by the amount of rubbish, others amazed how much the view had changed & those who shared recollections of days gone by.

These are some of the comments:

Great picture, love the contrast of the rubbish against the back drop of the shiny commercial and financial…the rubbish ‘spoils’ the picture and gives the viewer an uneasy feeling…job done.

Fabulous photo, Jennie. At first glance I thought I was looking at ‘Noo Yoik’. Great location to film the opening sequence of a gritty cop show…. !”

“Hate it….prefer the old view…we have no nice vista anymore…just tower blocks…its the same when you come through Blackwall tunnel…, shocking…I know we have to accommodate the population but it is still sad. It also makes the air bad as pollution just hangs inbetween. I miss my home town but really appreciate the cleaner air in Cambridgeshire now.”

“Ugly buildings, not much of a view, as for the rubbish, sooner that then as a kid what I used to find washed up, sacks with puppies in, and once a mum cat and her kittens, so even rubbish is a improvement on that!”

I also received the following comment from an old school friend who knows the area well:

“Great pic, Jennie. Reminds me of the reverse of in the gutter but looking at the stars. Definitely has political overtones! …….literature and politics in 2 sentences!”

This project is certainly starting to take shape – I think the theme of Cruel & Tender: Industrialisation & Consumerism is quite appropriate.

Criteria Ref: P1 & P4.

 

Leave a Reply

