Cruel & Tender: Pt 13

With the project almost completed, I didn’t have to worry too much about producing further images. However, on Mothering Sunday, I went over to South East London to visit my mother in Plumstead.

Instead of joining my mum & daughter for their ritual shopping trip to nearby Woolwich, I decided to go for a walk to see what had changed around the area.

My first port of call was taking a trip on the Woolwich Ferry. I used to have the occasional trip on this as a child.

After the trip across the Thames, all the passengers have to disembark. There really isn’t much on the other side of the water, so I decided to walk back through the foot tunnel. I forgot how long it was – think it’s about a mile.

woolwichfoottunnel

I then walked along the Woolwich riverfront eastwards. Just like the Greenwich stretch, this area has been the subject of massive redevelopment. I also realised that despite moving to that part of the world in 1982, I’d never actually walked that route before. Was very interesting just taking in all the details.

The last image shows where the path becomes less developed, but at the end of it was a nice surprise. A new London green space called Gallions Park. This land was previously part of the Royal Arsenal, but has now be redeveloped for the local community & visitors to enjoy.

GallionsPark_17-03-26

The most interesting feature in the park has to be Gallions Hill. This is a 22m-high mound that, a man-made landmark constructed out of recycled excavated material. This structure features a spiral pathway leading to the summit. I had to climb up there to take in the view.

By then I realised that Sunday dinner was going to be on the table very soon. Was a long walk back to my mum’s, but I’d certainly built up a good appetite by the time I arrived at her house.

Criteria Ref: P1 & P4.

Leave a Reply

