Transformations – Unit 1: Pt 7 Musical Inspiration

While thinking about this particular project, I did keep being niggled by one aspect. Animating the transforming images to music. It is something I’d wanted to do for a while.

One video which has me hypnotised is the one for Nils Frahm’s ‘Says’. It’s best watched in a dark room with no other distractions & letting your eyes drift over the occurring shapes. There are times when it almost freaks me out, I have to admit!

This visual creation was improvised by Romain Assénat & Ana Silva (with the support of Atelier Graphoui) with inks on glass captured live without any post-production.

Frahm’s music does tend to be very atmospheric & ethereal – ideal for my imagery. One track that did pop out at me was Ambre. It has a nice steady pace, flowing & swirling.

I tried listening to the music while clicking through these images. Not bad…

There are a few issues. First, copyright. Would I be able to use the music for this project? Secondly, the length of the track. At 3’48”, that’s 5,700 stills.

Minor details. I could use the music as a base for timing. One rule of animation I’ve learned is to create the soundtrack first, then build the visuals around them. I will need to study the piece to work out the pace of the track & what’s needed for a particular section. Also, as this unit requires six separate images, I could create six sections & play with the images – transforming a segment in both colour & shape (am thinking back to some of the planet swirls I’ve previously produced).

Lots to think about. Will put it on a back burner until the next classroom session when I can discuss it with Zig & my trusted classmates.

Tasks 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5

Leave a Reply

