Transformations – Unit 1: Pt 8 Time Lapse Cont.

With my recent thoughts on transforming movement & frustrations with the camera, I finally got round to using the video function on my Nikon D5500 this week.

Since getting this wonderful piece of kit almost two years ago, I’d solely used it as a camera & not even thought about its additional capabilities. After a brief look at the manual , its very straightforward so it was time to try it out in Bushy Park.

Before taking some video, I gave the Interval Timing Shooting one more go. Still playing up, despite resetting. But did manage to capture these images of the sun on the water.

Ok, time to try the video function… very interesting experience. As I didn’t have the tripod, I had to stand very still, holding the camera. When filming, the image comes up on the live screen on the back of the camera, instead of through the view finder. Makes it a bit easier, but this will eat up the battery life quicker. Also, I found it worked better using manual focus rather than automatic focus.

This is one of the results of filming:

https://vimeo.com/216866587

I would have added the others, but the basic Vimeo settings have a weekly upload limit with the free option.

I also had a play with a couple of abstractions from some of the still shots.

Ok, that’s a start. The next step is to work out how to do this better & take the concept further.

Tasks 2, 3, 4 & 5

 

Leave a Reply

