Unit 1 – Transformations: Pt 12 Photo London

After the morning’s BTEC Photography class, I travelled into town for Photo London. This is one of the biggest photography fairs bringing together the world’s leading photographers, curators, exhibitors & dealers.

This is the third year Photo London has been held in what’s considered to be one of the most creative cities in the world. I visited for the first time last year & the whole experience was fairly mind-blowing. I wasn’t disappointed this year, either.

I had a quick peruse in some of the rooms, where I came across this work by Natalia LL, called TAK. Interesting use of images that aren’t just put into frames & hung on a wall. Almost like a shop interior…

I then attended a talk featuring the photographer Adam Fuss & sculptor Antony Gormley. I wanted to see this talk as Fuss uses a camera-less technique to create his images – when I researched these, I thought it would be an interesting opportunity to find out why & how he chose this particular method. Gormley is famous for producing the massive Angel of the North. The conversation between these two creatives explored their own artistic practices. I’ll be writing a bit more of this in a separate post.

anthony_adam_photolondon_2017

An hour later, with my head spinning, I met briefly with John, a fellow Level 2 classmate for a coffee then continued around the fair.

One trend that I did notice was ‘3-D’ photography. I first came across this concept when visiting the Flowers Gallery last year when they held an exhibition on abstract photography. This exhibition included work by Wendy Cockburn, who sews brightly coloured threads to old photos & Letha Wilson, who takes prints of her images & makes them into wall-hung sculptures using concrete.

I saw Wilson’s work on display, as well as Timo Kloeppel’s Chromogenic colour prints with broken sections of Christmas baubles. There was another photographer utilising the thread technique, but can’t for the life of me find their name!

These are some of the other pieces that caught my attention…

However, the work that stood out head & shoulders was by Michal Maku, who has invented his own technique called Glass Gellage. Stunning & innovative…

EUQINOMprojects

One stand I didn’t manage to get to, but stood out when I was writing up my visit experience was Euqinom Projects. Stunning work & techniques utilised by Scott B. Davis, Meghann Riepenhoff & Klea McKenna.

sbd_ocotillo-ocotillo-no-44-1024x642
Scott B. Davis – unique platinum/palladium paper negative prints, diptych

 

sbd_ocotillo-ocotillo-no-42-825x1024
Scott B Davis – unique paper negative palladium print

 

sbd_ocotillo-ocotillo-no-12-1024x642
Scott B Davis – unique paper negative palladium/platinum prints, diptych
McKenna_16790-Dawns-1
Klea McKenna – Automatic Earth
24 x 20 in (61 x 50 cm)
Photographic rubbing. Unique gelatin silver photogram
McKenna_AutomaticEarth_51-870x1024
Klea McKenna – Automatic Earth 51
2017
Automatic Earth
60.96 x 50.8 cm.
Photographic rubbing. Unique gelatin silver photogram.
McKenna_RainStudy_Kona_98
Klea McKenna – Rain Study (Kona) #98
2015
Rain Studies
60.96 x 50.8 cm.
Unique gelatin silver photogram of rain

 

MR.LD57_42x108-1024x455
Meghann Riepenhoff  – Littoral Drift #443 (Triptych, Point White Beach, Bainbridge Island, WA 05.13.16, Five Waves and Wind-Flipped)
2016
Littoral Drift
36 x 72 in (91 x 183 cm)
Unique dynamic cyanotype

 

MR.LD443_triptych-1024x504
Meghann Riepenhoff – Littoral Drift #443 (Triptych, Point White Beach, Bainbridge Island, WA 05.13.16, Five Waves and Wind-Flipped)
2016
Littoral Drift
36 x 72 in (91 x 183 cm)
Unique dynamic cyanotype

I finally called it a day about 6pm as my head was spinning with images & ideas. I so wish I’d had the whole day to go round. Just so much to see & take in. Will remember that for next year…

Tasks 1, 2 & 3

Leave a Reply

